My Pinterest Boycott

I refuse to look at Pinterest.  This is not because it has harmed or offended me in some way.  I avoid it because I know if I give in that I spend countless hours looking and pinning things with my time rather than focusing on writing my children’s books, spending time with my kids or cooking great gluten-free food.

Last week I got around to really going through my latest Rachel Ray Magazine issue and decided to cut out this recipe.  Yeah, I cut it out of the magazine….old school style.  This Tex-Mex recipe was featured as the burger of the month and it was delicious.  I used Udi’s gluten-free hamburger buns and toasted them lightly in a dry skillet over medium-high heat on the stove. 

Burger Ingredients:

12 slices of good quality bacon (4 slices finely chopped and 8 slices left whole)

1lb  – 1.25 lbs 80% lean ground beef

3-4 T grated onion

2 cloves of garlic finely chopped

2 T pureed chipotle in adobo sauce

2 T worcestershire sauce

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil

gluten-free hamburger buns or gluten-free rolls

Fritos corn chips

Additonal toppings (tomato, lettuce, pickled jalapenos or cilantro)

Queso Sauce Ingredients:

3 T unsalted butter

2 T gluten-free flour

1 c milk

1 1/2 c shredded cheddar

14 oz can diced tomatoes with green chiles

Cook the 8 whole slices of bacon until crisp and set aside.  Preheat griddle pan or cast-iron skillet on stove over medium-high heat.  In a bowl mix ground beef, chopped raw bacon, onion, garlic, chipotle puree, worcestershire and salt and pepper.  Form into 4 patties thinner at the center.  Drizzle patties with olive oil and grill for about 5 minutes on each side.  Make your queso sauce by melting butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Whisk in flour for one minute and then whisk in milk.  Add cheese and stir until melted.  Add tomatoes and stir to combine.  Place burger on toasted bun, top with queso, bacon strips, corn chips and any additional toppings you like.

2 responses

  1. I can’t imagine boycotting Pinterest! Although you are right, it does take a fair amount of my time! I think it’s all about balance for me–I do like to post photos from my blog sometimes 🙂

    I would love to hear more about your children’s books, as an author myself! 😉

    • Justine,

      I have two children’s books currently available on kindle and amazon. The first is Lil Glimmer which is aimed at toddlers and is about a star who learns patience and sharing. The second is The Nutt Family: An Acorny Adventure about Chess Nutt and his sister Praline and an unexpected nutty adventure. Feel free to check them out and let me know your thoughts. I would love to get your feedback!

Leave a comment