Cowboy Spaghetti

Growing up my brother and I had spaghetti for dinner probably once a week.  I felt like I had noodles and tomato sauce coming out of my ears.  I was sick, sick, sick of spaghetti and swore off it for many years.  I started making this Rachel Ray version a couple of years ago and now it is the only spaghetti I eat.  The cheddar cheese and sliced scallions on top give it a much different flavor and crumbled bacon makes anything taste better.  Try it out!

Ingredients:

1 lb gluten-free spaghetti noodles

1 T olive oil

4 slices bacon chopped

1 lb ground sirloin

1 medium onion chopped

3 cloves of garlic chopped

salt and pepper to taste

2 tsp hot sauce (I used Frank’s hot sauce)

1 T Worcestershire sauce

1/2 c gluten-free beer or beef stock

14 oz fire roasted or regular diced tomatoes

8 oz can tomato sauce

8 oz shredded cheddar cheese

4 scallions sliced on the bias

Cook spaghetti according to package directions.  Brown bacon in a large skillet or dutch oven and drain.   Add olive oil to bacon fat and add sirloin.  Brown beef for 4-5 minutes and than add onions and garlic.   Season with salt, pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce.  Deglaze pan with beer or stock.  Cook for about 5 minutes and then add tomato sauce and tomatoes.  Add spaghetti noodles to sauce and toss to combine.  Pour spaghetti in a shallow dish and then sprinkle with cheese, scallions and bacon.

2 responses

  1. I’m gluten-free too and I love your site. Quick question – ever heard that there is a lot of fat in gluten-free noodles partly to make them taste better? I haven’t really had a chance to check out packages yet, but I was curious if you had heard this. I normally use various shapes of rice noodles but now I’m curious.

    • Trudyj – I had not heard that. I checked the package for the Tinkyada brown rice spaghetti that I used for this recipe and for a 4 oz serving size there would be a total of 420 calories and 4g of fat (1g of saturated fat). You can get gluten-free pasta made from corn also, so I’m sure nutritional info will vary based on the ingredients in the pasta. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment