My First Risotto

I was watching an episode of Chopped the other night on the Foodnetwork and one of the contestants made this amazing root vegetable risotto.  I have never attempted to do a risotto before.  Something about it just always intimidated me.  I decided that I must forge ahead despite my low self esteem and this was my creation.   It was creamy and chock full of yummy hidden veggies that my kids gobbled up.  I was very pleased with myself and my confidence was definitely boosted.  Pay no attention to the stuffed pork chop on this plate because the risotto was the star of the show.  I will be making many more risotto creations in the future.  You can bet on that!

Ingredients:

2 c sliced fresh mushrooms (I used baby bellas)

1/2 c chopped onion

2 garlic cloves minced

2T olive oil

1 c arborio rice

3 c chicken or vegetable broth

3/4 c broccoli chopped into bite size pieces

1 tomato seeded and diced

1/4 c shredded carrot

1 c shredded fontina cheese

1/4 c grated parmesan cheese

3T fresh basil chopped or snipped

1 plum tomato sliced for garnish (optional)

salt and freshly ground pepper

In a large saucepan heat oil over medium high heat and then add mushrooms, onion and garlic.  Season with salt and pepper and cook until onion is tender.  Stir in your rice and cook stirring constantly for 5 minutes.  Heat chicken or veggie stock in another saucepan and bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer.  Slowly add 1c of hot broth to rice mixture stirring constantly.  Continue to cook until all liquid is absorbed.  Add 1/2 c broth and broccoli to rice stirring constantly.   Continue to cook until all liquid is absorbed.  Add 1/2 c more broth until absorbed and then add another 1/2 c broth until absorbed stirring constantly.  This should take 15-20 minutes.  Stir in tomato, carrot and remaining 1/2 c broth and cook until rice is slightly creamy and just tender.  Stir in fontina, parmesan and basil.  Serve with garnish of tomato slices.

One response

Leave a Reply

