Easy Peppermint Bark (or so I thought)

This little treat just tastes like Christmas.  What can go wrong with peppermint and chocolate?  I’ll tell you what can go wrong……chocolate seizing.  Apparently it is critical to make sure there is absolutely no water in the bowl you are using to melt your chocolate in the microwave.  I was golden when melting the milk chocolate, but I made the mistake of washing out the same bowl to melt my white chocolate and I guess I didn’t dry it completely so my white chocolate seized on me.  I thought I had heard that you can salvage it by adding some honey so I tried that.  Maybe I didn’t add enough, but the honey didn’t do the trick so I added a little corn syrup and it helped the consistency enough to spread on top of the milk chocolate.  Don’t make my mistake when melting your chocolate…..I sure won’t do that again!

Ingredients:

12 oz milk or semi sweet chocolate chips

12 oz white chocolate chips

8 large candy canes (crushed)

non-stick cooking spray

Cover a sheet pan with wax paper and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Melt your milk or semi sweet chocolate in a DRY bowl in the microwave.  Start with 25 seconds and then continue adding 20 seconds until you get the desired consistency.  Spread this chocolate on your sheet pan to 1/8 inch thickness and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Next melt your white chocolate in the microwave in the same manner and spread over your other chocolate mixture.  Add your crushed candy canes and gently press them into the white chocolate.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes more or until hardened.  Break your bark into pieces and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

