Pralines Are Like Crack

This is what my husband and I have decided after I tried making my first ever batch of homemade pecan pralines.  These things are addictive!  I didn’t have a candy thermometer so I tried to get to the soft ball stage by testing the syrup in a cup of ice cold water to see if it would change to a soft ball that would easily flatten after removing it from the water.  The first time I thought it was ready I made two and let them cool a little, but the texture felt more like caramel so I heated the mixture a little more and then it was perfect.  These taste like heavenly toasted nuts with delicious melt in your mouth sugary goodness surrounding them.  I piled them all on top of one another in this tin, but I’m sure they won’t last long at our house.

Ingredients:

Non-stick cooking spray

1 1/2 c toasted pecans

1 1/2 c granulated sugar

6T unsalted butter

3/4 c light brown sugar

1/2 c skim milk

1 tsp quality vanilla extract

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  In a large saucepan over medium heat combine all ingredients and heat to between 234-240 degrees F if you have a candy thermometer, or until you reach the soft ball stage.  Drop by spoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet and let cool completely.  When ready to eat just peel pralines from foil and enjoy!

Don’t blame me if you get addicted to these like we did!

3 responses

  1. I think I better go buy a thermometer I don’t trust myself getting it right even then:) I sure want to try these, thank you for sharing. ummm how do you toast almonds?? see Iam not a baker.. xoxo

  2. Lyn,

    A candy thermometer is probably a good investment 🙂 To toast any nut I put the nuts in a dry nonstick skillet over medium to medium-high heat and then just toss them or stir them around in the pan until you can really start to smell the nuttiness and then remove from the heat. Watch them very carefully so they don’t burn……it usually only take 3-5 minutes to get them toasted up good!

Leave a Reply

