Cranberry Sauce….NOT from a can!

All this week I’m going to share the recipes that I will be making my family for Thanksgiving this year.  First up is my made-from-scratch cranberry sauce.  I know some of you (we won’t name names) are satisfied with taking a can of either the jelly or whole berry variety and opening it up via can opener on Thanksgiving day, but I ask where is the fun in that?  There is nothing like the taste of freshly made cranberry sauce to ring in Thanksgiving and it is so easy to make.  I make mine a day or two ahead of turkey day and it is great!

Ingredients:

12 oz fresh cranberries
1 cup water
1 3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 granny smith apple (peeled, cored and chopped)
1/4 cup orange juice
grated zest of one orange and one lemon
 
In a pot on the stove cook the cranberries, sugar and water over medium low heat for about 5 minutes or until the cranberry skins begin to pop.  Add the apple, zests and juice and cook for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Refrigerate for at least 24 hrs (sauce will thicken).

Put the can openers away and try this version this year and let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

