Pumpkin muffins

My son is eight years old and is one of the pickiest eaters I know.  He HATES vegetables with the exception of corn and he only tolerates that one.  He likes what he likes and is very hesitant to try new things which is the exact opposite of me.  I will eventually talk him into trying at least a miniscule bite and 99% of the time his response is “That’s disgusting.”  On rare occasions he discovers a food that he really loves like his recent introduction to nachos.  He would never try them before and now they are one of his favorite dinner items.  I am happy to say that today was another day when my son discovered another food that he really likes.  I decided since it was a gorgeous fall day out that I would make some gluten-free pumpkin muffins.  I took a recipe from www.kingarthurflour.com and made some minor adjustments.  This have been some of the most moist muffins I have made to date.

Ingredients:

3 large eggs

1 1/2 T molasses

1/2 T vanilla

15 oz canned pumpkin

1 3/4 c gluten-free all purpose flour

1 c sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp xantham gum

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp cardamom

1 stick of unsalted butter softened

Preheat oven to 375F and line muffin pan with papers.  This recipe said it only made 12 muffins, but I was able to make 18 regular size muffins.  Whisk the eggs, molasses, vanilla and pumpkin together in a bowl and set aside.  In another bowl whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, xantham gum, salt and other spices.  Add the butter to the flour mixture and mix with an electric mixture until evenly crumbly.  Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture 1/3 at a time beating well.  Once all combined beat for 1-2 minutes until batter is fluffy.  Fill your muffin cups with the batter and let them rest for 10 minutes.  Bake the muffins for 18-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Best served warm with a little butter on them.

We each enjoyed a warm muffin after they came out of the oven and then both my son and daughter wanted a second one.  After my son asked for a third muffin I carefully checked his forehead for fever and then asked him if he knew what was in the muffins.  He said “They are orange so of course pumpkin.”  When I told him that maybe he shouldn’t have a third one because he might spoil his dinner he stated “Mom, they have vegetables in them.”  I couldn’t argue with that so I let him have his third helping. 

It’s always a treat to see someone enjoying something you made especially when you thought the response would be “This is disgusting.” 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Homemade Dog Treats – Halloween Bon Bons

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Pumpkins Bars – Gluten Free « Bookcase Foodie

Leave a Reply

