Panic attack!

Take a deep breath and try to relax!  You know the feeling.  The sudden onset of fear that creeps in when you are about to dine somewhere you have never been before.  The palms get sweaty and your nerves are jittery as you ponder what you will be able to eat that won’t jack up your stomach. This happens to me …..a lot.  We order food in for our office once a week and sometimes we try new places.  If you are like me I immediately go the website and look for a gluten-free menu.  Nine times out of ten I don’t find one.  I then try to search the nutritional info or scan the menu in hopes that the descriptions of the food won’t lead me astray. 

Dining out used to be such a culinary adventure.  Now, not so much.  While I still very much enjoy trying new foods it is also a slightly scary experience now because I’m afraid of how my stomach will react.  Am I going to feel miserable for the next couple of days because of what I’m about to consume?  They couldn’t possibly put wheat in this, right?  I’m always wondering and waiting to see what will happen.  Once I do order something and the experience is not misery for my digestive system then I tend to be a creature of habit and continue to get the same meal over and over again.  This process is so not like me!  I used to be bold and daring in my foodie choices, but because of my colitis and aversion to gluten I have become….dare I say it….boring!

Wouldn’t it be awesome if there was a dine in restaurant or even a quick service restaurant that was ENTIRELY gluten-free?  Oh well, a girl can dream can’t she?

Leave a Reply

