Divine Red Velvet Cake

One of the things I enjoy most about baking is having my princess by my side as my sous chef.  She loves to help me measure the ingredients and stir everything up.  I try to get my son involved, but he is only interested when there are beaters that are ready to be licked.  This weekend we decided to tackle Red Velvet Cake and I’m proud to say that my family agreed that this was one of the best gluten-free cakes I have ever made.  Here is the recipe I used:

Cake Ingredients

1 3/4 c vegetable oil

1 1/2 c sugar

2 eggs beaten (room temp)

1c brown rice flour

3/4 c King Arthur all purpose GF flour

3/4 c tapioca starch

1 tsp baking soda

1tsp xantham gum

1/4 tsp salt

1c buttermilk

1 tsp gourmet vanilla

1 oz red food coloring

1 T Hershey’s cocoa powder

Frosting Ingredients

16 oz confectioners sugar

8 oz cream cheese (room temp)

1 stick of butter (room temp)

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350F.  Use a mixer to cream the oil and sugar and with mixer still going add eggs one at a time until they are combined.  Mix all dry ingredients in a separate bowl and whisk them together so they are thoroughly mixed.  Add the flour mixture to the oil/sugar mixture 1/4 at a time alternating with 1/4 of the buttermilk.  Make a paste of the vanilla, cocoa and food coloring and gently stir into your batter.  Pour the batter into 2 round greased and floured cake pans.  Bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Once cakes have completely cooled frost with cream cheese frosting.

For the frosting cream the confectioners sugar, cream cheese and butter.  Mix in the vanilla and then frost your cake.  I kept the cake refrigerated after if was frosted and made some decorative pieces out of melted chocolate for a finishing touch.

 

Leave a Reply

