Leftover chicken soup

So I’ve been knocked on my butt for the last few days with acute bronchitis and a sinus infection.  I have felt miserable….completely miserable.  Aches, chills, fatigue, horrible cough and inability to breathe.  I would not wish this stuff on my worst enemy.  After trying several prescription and OTC medications I turned to some home remedies too.  Did you know taking a shot of apple cider vinegar at the onset of a sinus infection can ward it off?  Mine was pretty far gone, but I chugged the shot for good measure.  I also mixed 1 tsp of turmeric powder with almond milk,  made tea using 1 dried bay leaf & 1 tsp minced fresh ginger with 1c water, mixed 1 tsp of honey with ground cloves & black pepper & minced ginger and then ate a whole clove of raw garlic.  My breath may be atrocious, but I’m starting to feel like I’m getting my mojo back!  I was craving chicken soup, but after finding out we had no gluten free canned soups in the house I decided to make my version of leftover chicken soup.

Ingredients:

2c good quality chicken stock

1/4-1/2 c leftover shredded chicken

1/4-1/2 c leftover cooked gluten free pasta

This is the pasta I tried for the first time and it was awesome (hubby found it at Walmart)

  3-4 chopped mini carrots

  1 tsp dehydrated chopped onion

  1/4 tsp each of sea salt, black pepper, poultery seasoning, sage

  Bring stock to a boil and add carrots and onion.  Add your spices.  Reduce the heat and cook for about 5 minutes or

  until the carrots are tender.  Add your leftover chicken and pasta to heat through.

ENJOY!

It is good for what ails ya!  What foods do you gravitate to when you are ill?

One response

Leave a Reply

