Fiery candy

On a recent trip to Whole Foods I couldn’t resist passing by the candy section.  My eyes immediately turned to the chocolate bars that sat on the shelf.  Each decadent bar seemed to be calling my name, but one seduced me more than the others.  The Chocolove Chilies & Cherries in Dark Chocolate peaked my curiosity. 

I’ve never been one of those people who enjoys intense heat in their food, but I have always been curious to try chilies and chocolate.  After carefully reviewing the ingredients to make sure the bar was gluten-free I tossed it into my basket.  I took the bar back to my office and waited like a good girl until after I had eaten all of my lunch.  I peeled off the wrapper and noticed there was a poem inside from Romeo and Juliet.

“My life were better ended by their hate,

Than death prorugued, wanting of they love.”

The seduction of this bar was blatent!  I broke off one small square and was greeted by the smooth rich dark chocolate….and then….it hit me!  The chilies made their prescence known, but not in an abusive way.  My tongue danced on the heat and then tasted the tangy sweetness from the cherries.  I took a small sip of my water, but the heat in my mouth was not overpowering.  I took another square and then a third as my taste buds became alive with the sensation of the heat.   This bar was bold, intense and when she was done with me I was totally satisfied.  Wham, Bam and Thank you ma’am!

One response

Leave a Reply

